Regional Trade Agreements in Thailand: An Overview

Thailand, as a member of several regional trade agreements, has gained tremendous benefits in terms of economic and trade relations with other countries. These trade agreements allow for better market access, the elimination of tariffs and quotas, and increased trade flows, all of which contribute to economic growth and development.

Regional trade agreements, or RTAs, are a type of trade agreement that involves two or more countries in a specific region. The goal of these agreements is to promote regional economic integration and facilitate trade between member countries. In Thailand, there are several RTAs that the country belongs to, each with its own unique features and benefits.

ASEAN Free Trade Area

The ASEAN Free Trade Area (AFTA) is a free trade agreement between the ten member countries of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN). The agreement aims to eliminate tariffs on goods traded within the region, stimulating trade and investment. Thailand, as an ASEAN member state, has been a part of the AFTA since 1992 and has enjoyed the benefits of tariff reductions and market access.

Thailand-Japan Economic Partnership Agreement

The Thailand-Japan Economic Partnership Agreement (TJPA) is a bilateral trade agreement between Thailand and Japan that came into effect in 2007. The agreement aims to liberalize trade and investment between the two countries, with the goal of encouraging economic cooperation and development. The TJPA has increased trade between the two countries, with Japan being one of Thailand`s top trading partners.

Thailand-Australia Free Trade Agreement

The Thailand-Australia Free Trade Agreement (TAFTA) is another bilateral trade agreement between Thailand and Australia. The agreement aims to increase trade and investment between the two countries by eliminating tariffs and providing greater market access. The TAFTA has helped to boost trade between Thailand and Australia, particularly in the areas of agriculture, mining, and tourism.

Regional Comprehensive Economic Partnership

The Regional Comprehensive Economic Partnership (RCEP) is a proposed free trade agreement between the ten ASEAN member states, along with Australia, China, Japan, South Korea, and New Zealand. The RCEP aims to reduce barriers to trade and investment in the region, with the goal of promoting economic growth and development. The agreement was signed in November 2020 and is expected to come into effect in the near future.


Regional trade agreements have been instrumental in promoting economic integration and growth in Thailand. The country`s membership in several trade agreements has enabled it to gain better market access, eliminate tariffs and quotas, and increase trade flows, all contributing to a stronger economy. Thailand`s involvement in regional trade agreements will continue to be an essential part of its economic strategy, facilitating trade relations with its partners and driving growth in the region.